MIMO - When Music is Your Fix

David Bowie Releases New Single, Announces First Album In a Decade

After all these years, David Bowie sure knows how to grab the attention of the public.

Yesterday was the glam-rock icon’s 66th birthday, and he celebrated by giving all of us a present: a surprise release of a new single “Where Are We Now?,” along with an announcement to expect a full-length record release in March. The single and the album mark Bowie’s first release of new music in ten years.

Bowie has kept things pretty low-key after having a heart attack while on tour in 2004. He hasn’t performed publicly since 2006, and not even an invitation by Danny Boyle to perform at the London Olympics last summer could convince him to make a public appearance. So you can perhaps see why this is big news.

The new record, titled The Next Day, is Bowie’s 30th studio release in a musical career spanning nearly five decades, and his first since 2003’s Reality. The album art has been the subject of much discussion, a derivative of the album art for 1977’s Heroes from Bowie’s “Berlin era.” Additionally, the accompanying video for the single includes footage of Berlin, as Bowie apparently reflects back on those days.

Can we expect a tour from this record? No such luck—at least for now. A spokesperson for Bowie tells The Guardian that no plans for live shows or interviews are currently in the works. So the record is all we can hope for at the present time.

The track list for the new record is below, along with the video for “Where Are We Now?”. See what you think.


The Next Day tracklist:


1. The Next Day

2. Dirty Boys

3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)

4. Love is Lost

5. Where Are We Now?

6. Valentine’s Day

7. If You Can See Me

8. I’d Rather Be High

9. Boss of Me

10. Dancing Out in Space

11. How Does the Grass Grow?

12. (You Will) Set the World on Fire

13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die

14. Heat

Bonus tracks:

15. So She

16. I’ll Take You There

17. Plan


Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

About the Author


Tim Ferrar's interest in pop and rock started as a child, listening to Top-40 radio for hours on end while playing air guitar in his bedroom. Eventually air guitar led to electric guitar, and Tim began playing in bands and writing his own songs. With an admitted weakness for "a great hook or a great guitar riff," Tim's musical tastes are broad and varied, ranging from Michael Jackson and Lady Gaga on the pop side to Bon Jovi and Foo Fighters on the rock side- making him the ideal guy to cover our Rock and Pop categories. By day, Tim is a mild-mannered accountant in Chicago. By night, he rocks out on electric guitar in a cover band in various clubs around town- much to the surprise of some of his clients.

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Featured, Rock Music


No Comments