MIMO - When Music is Your Fix

Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros “Here”: The Hootenanny Continues…

Vagrant Records (2012)

For those of you who may be new to Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros, let’s clarify something before talking about their new release Here: Edward Sharpe isn’t real. He’s a hippified messiah-type, a character created by lead vocalist Alex Ebert, sort of as a way of dealing with his own demons. The band that formed around this character, then, could arguably be considered his…um…nine or so “disciples.” The end result was a band that acted more like a hippie musical troupe than a band, going around the country in a white school bus with their traveling indie-folk, gospel-ly hootenanny.

The thing, this off-center, hippie-messiah-gospel thing has struck a nerve with a lot of folks who have been energized by the band’s contagious, exuberant vibe. The band’s debut album Up from Below peaked at a respectable #76 on the Billboard 200, and Edward Sharpe and the Disciples (er, Magnetic Zeroes) started selling out their shows. With the band’s sophomore release Here, the hootenanny is set to continue, albeit at a slightly reduced level of exuberance.

Let’s face it: a group of hippies can only dance and sing around a bonfire for so long before they (and the bonfire) start to get tired. Then the songs stop being so foot-stompy, and they start being a little more reflective. That’s probably the best way to describe Here: the bonfire is slowly turning to embers, and we’re starting to sit down and think about life a little bit more. The album kicks off close to a full burn with “Man on Fire,” and slowly but surely dwindles to a smolder with the closing track “All Wash Out.” The feel-good vibe is still prevalent throughout the album, but the emotions run perhaps just a little deeper.

This isn’t to say this album isn’t as good as the last; performance-wise, it lives up to the first record, and then some. Fans of Edward Sharpe won’t be disappointed; in fact, they’re likely to see Here as a natural follow-up to Up from Below, even representing a maturing of the band—which is as it should be.

One thing I should point out is that Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes have gratefully not allowed their new-found success to alter the raw, organic vibe that initially made us fans. While some bands take an increased budget and over-produce their next record, this record is self-produced by the band, and delightfully unpolished. All told, Here is a near-perfect continuation of the journey begun a couple of years ago—and while its energy is not quite as white-hot as the first record, the overall mission of Edward Sharpe remains the same. As he says on the opening track, “Only one desire that’s left in me / I want the whole damn world to come dance with me.”

ALBUM RATING: 4 Stars (out of five)

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

About the Author


Growing up in Portland, Oregon, Kim Phelps found her inspiration and love for music listening to local bands play in the coffeehouses around town. She soon found her own voice as a singer-songwriter, and eventually began playing her own gigs in the coffee shops. Her personal influences include Ani DiFranco, Indigo Girls, Ingrid Michaelson and Cat Power, but as an indie musician herself, she has an affinity for any band or artist who pursues creative freedom on the outskirts of the music industry. As our Indie correspondent, Kim makes a point of highlighting up-and-coming independent acts who are creating a buzz and building an audience. When she's not blogging for us or playing in the coffee shops, Kim works as a barista herself to help pay the bills. She currently lives in Seattle, Washington.

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Featured, Indie/Alternative Music


No Comments