MIMO - When Music is Your Fix

Lady Gaga “Applause” Leak Met With Angry Reaction from Singer, Fans

Leaks removed from the Internet

Apparently Lady Gaga’s “monsters” fan base are more than fiercely loyal; they are also notably protective of her music. When snippets of Gaga’s upcoming single “Applause” leaked online over the weekend, the violation was met with an angry response not only from the singer, but also from the fans themselves.

“Lord, in HEAVEN WHY” was Gaga’s first tweet, followed quickly by “YOU JUST COULDN’T WAIT THIS IS TOO MUCH FOR ONE SATURDAY.” The single does not officially release until August 19.

In a fairly uncharacteristic response, fans began joining the tirade and launched an impromptu anti-piracy campaign, assisting in reporting instances of hundreds of leaks as Gaga’s internal “TechHaus” worked on getting illegal streams and downloads removed from the Internet.

A few hours later, Gaga sent out a tweet to Katy Perry, whose single “Roar” also leaked over the weekend, asking: “Wanna grab some shovels and f**k up some hackers?”

“Applause” is the lead single from Lady Gaga’s third studio album ARTPOP, which is due to drop November 11.

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

About the Author


Tim Ferrar's interest in pop and rock started as a child, listening to Top-40 radio for hours on end while playing air guitar in his bedroom. Eventually air guitar led to electric guitar, and Tim began playing in bands and writing his own songs. With an admitted weakness for "a great hook or a great guitar riff," Tim's musical tastes are broad and varied, ranging from Michael Jackson and Lady Gaga on the pop side to Bon Jovi and Foo Fighters on the rock side- making him the ideal guy to cover our Rock and Pop categories. By day, Tim is a mild-mannered accountant in Chicago. By night, he rocks out on electric guitar in a cover band in various clubs around town- much to the surprise of some of his clients.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Featured, Pop Music


No Comments