MIMO - When Music is Your Fix

Miranda Lambert, Keith Urban Big Winners at ACM Awards 2014

(plus full winner's list)

Some folks might be getting tired of hearing the name Miranda Lambert at these country music awards shows, but get used to it—the girl is apparently just getting started.

For an unprecedented fifth consecutive year, Lambert took home the Female Vocalist of the Year award at the 2014 Academy of Country Music Awards, held Sunday night in Las Vegas.  “I cannot believe this—I really didn’t expect it,” went the obligatory disclaimer in her third acceptance speech of the night.  In all, she took home three awards, also winning Single of the Year for “Mama’s Broken Heart,” and Vocal Event of the Year for her duet with Keith Urban, “We Were Us.”

Speaking of Keith Urban, he tied Lambert for the haul of trophies, having won two ACMs for his duet with Lambert (he not only sang, he produced the song), plus a trophy for his collaboration on Tim McGraw’s “Highway Don’t Care,” which won Video of the Year. (Sort of a back door method for taking home the most awards, but we’re sure he’ll take it.)

Appropriately, the fan-voted Entertainer of the Year award went to “King of Country” George Strait, who is currently on his victory-lap farewell tour.  A more controversial fan-voted win went to Justin Moore for New Artist of the Year.  No hanging chads here—he actually won fair-and-square—but by standard ACM rules he isn’t qualified as a “New Artist” because he already has two Gold records.  The ACM apparently made an exception; we’ll see if anyone raises a fuss.

For the second year in a row, the awards telecast was hosted by Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton (soon-to-be-known as “Miranda Lambert’s husband”), who took the stage for a few comedic jabs after a powerful opening performance of “Chainsaw” by The Band Perry that included dumping a boatload of confetti on the celebrities in the front rows. Other notable performances of the night (out of many) included Blake Shelton peforming with Shakira on her country(?) single “Medicine,” a Lady A-Stevie Nicks collab on “Golden” and “Rihannon,” and the George Strait-Miranda Lambert tribute to Merle Haggard, who took home the ACM Crystal Milestone Award, followed by a crowd rendition of “Happy Birthday” for his 77th.

The full list of ACM 2014 winners is below:

Entertainer of the Year:  George Strait

Male Vocalist of the Year:  Jason Aldean

Female Vocalist of the Year: 
Miranda Lambert

Vocal Duo of the Year: 
Florida Georgia Line

New Artist of the Year: 
Justin Moore

Vocal Group of the Year: 
The Band Perry

Album of the Year: Same Trailer Different Park – Kacey Musgraves

Single Record of the Year:  
”Mama’s Broken Heart” – Miranda Lambert

Song of the Year:
 “I Drive Your Truck” – Lee Brice (Songwriters: Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, Jimmy Yeary)

 Video of the Year: 
”Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw Featuring Taylor Swift & Keith Urban

Vocal Event of the Year: 
”We Were Us” – Keith Urban, Miranda Lambert

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

About the Author


Music blogger Rob Burkhardt has been a fan of country music since he was a child, cutting his teeth on the sounds of Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Reba McIntyre and George Jones. In the words of the now-legendary Barbara Mandrell song, he was "country when country wasn't cool." Nowadays, Rob is both intrigued and excited about the mainstream crossover appeal of modern country, as seen in the success of artists like Carrie Underwood, Rascal Flatts and Lady Antebellum. Even so, Rob's personal tastes in country music remain "old school," tied to the great legends of country. When he's not blogging about country music, Rob Burkhardt holds a day job as a middle school teacher, and is an avid sports fan. He lives with his wife and two teenage girls in southern Ohio.

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Country Music


No Comments