MIMO - When Music is Your Fix

Sixpence None the Richer Finds Its Way Back (Finally) with “Lost In Transition”

self-released 2012

Lost In Transition, the new release from indie band Sixpence None the Richer, has to be approaching a record for longest-awaited comeback album ever. Other than a 2008 Christmas album, there’s been no new material from this band since they reunited in 2007. That’s basically five years between when they reformed and the point at which we actually have what could be considered a “comeback” album.

For longtime Sixpence fans, at least, the new record should be worth the wait.

Admittedly, Lost In Transition is an album whose title describes its own journey well. This record was first announced back in 2010, and was supposed to have been released in 2011 under the title Strange Conversation. Indeed, fans may recognize the tunes “Safety Line” and “Failure,” which were streaming on the band’s Facebook page as early as July of last year. When label issues continued to hold up the album’s release, Sixpence decided to self-release it—but even then, several projected release dates came and went. After an apropos name change for the album, Lost In Transition is no longer “lost,” finally landing on store shelves and download sites this week.

That being said, if you’re looking for a dramatic shift in direction or a strong new sound for Sixpence None the Richer, you’ll probably be disappointed. This is pretty much the same Sixpence fans have grown to love—just a new set of songs, none of which is likely to have the hit power of “Kiss Me” or “There She Goes,” but which are well-written nonetheless.

But being a Sixpence fan myself, I have to say that I’m not disappointed by the album. I could listen to Leigh Nash’s light, warbly voice all day long, and this record offers a welcome breath of fresh air, so to speak. Personal faves include “Give It Back” and “Don’t Blame Yourself,” perhaps for no other reason than I particularly like the way they sound. I’ve been wanting new material from this band for a long time, and this record scratches the itch. I expect other fans will feel the same.

So all told, this long-awaited reboot from Sixpence might seem a bit anti-climatic for some—but then again, Sixpence was never about overstatement. They’re about good songwriting and thought-provoking lyrics, and in that sense, Lost In Transition fills the bill just fine. At the very least, fans now have something new to listen to.

3.5 / 5 stars     

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

About the Author


Growing up in Portland, Oregon, Kim Phelps found her inspiration and love for music listening to local bands play in the coffeehouses around town. She soon found her own voice as a singer-songwriter, and eventually began playing her own gigs in the coffee shops. Her personal influences include Ani DiFranco, Indigo Girls, Ingrid Michaelson and Cat Power, but as an indie musician herself, she has an affinity for any band or artist who pursues creative freedom on the outskirts of the music industry. As our Indie correspondent, Kim makes a point of highlighting up-and-coming independent acts who are creating a buzz and building an audience. When she's not blogging for us or playing in the coffee shops, Kim works as a barista herself to help pay the bills. She currently lives in Seattle, Washington.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Indie/Alternative Music


No Comments